Day 3- August 24, 2009

I’ve been looking for work, so a few weeks ago I took a barista course. Since then, I’ve been looking for work in cafes and the such, and today I went to a cafe in Heidelberg, run by the Uniting Church, called the Sycamore Tree. It’s mostly run by volunteer staff, so I went in for the day to get some experience working in a cafe.

The whole experience was rather interesting. I showed up (having organised to come in last week through a different manager to the one that was in today) and was told that they probably didn’t need me right then, because it was a bit slow and that I could come back around lunchtime. I must have looked rather disappointed, becuase the manager relented, and got me to help her take an inventory of the vegetables. Then, I was promoted to wrapping cutlery (pictured).

Other duties performed through the day included making coffees, teas and milkshakes, dismembering chickens (by which I mean getting rid of the skin and bones so the meat could be used in sandwiches, not gutting the birds or anything like that), making damper, learning to use the cash register (wooo life skill!), taking orders and making deliveries. I also got some free coffees, milkshake, lunch and parking. Not bad. Not bad at all.

I then drove to the university to go the gym and was in the middle of shopping for birthday cards in Carlton when I got a call from my brother. “Um, Sasha, your student’s here”. Shit. I forgot I tutored. By the time I got home, it was already 40 minutes after the lesson was supposed to start. Argh. New sales pitch: “Less than half an hour late, or your education free!”?

Also tried out Lectopia today, the program that the university uses to record lectures so you can listen to them later if you miss them. I missed my “Self and Other” lecture today due to going to the cafe and got to listen to the lecture tonight (once my computer stopped freezing), which features excerpts from a Holocaust documentary. Lesson for the day: documentaries in Yiddish need subtitles.

What a day.

One response to “Day 3- August 24, 2009

  1. Baha – dismembering

Leave a Reply

