Day 4- August 25, 2009

Back to uni today for the first time since I started this blog. I was quite sleepy in the morning, so I decided to take a bit of a nap on the train. Drifting in and out of wakefulness (the various beeping and PA noises of the train being not exactly calming), I realised at some point that this Indian guy had fallen asleep pretty much on top of me. I tried shoving him off, but he seemed pretty asleep, so I gave up and went to sleep myself. When I awoke again, he had gone. If you are an Indian male who got on the Hurstbridge line to the city today and fell asleep on top of a guy in an Astroboy tshirt, please contact me. We could be friends.

Anyway, so I got to uni (still asleep to some degree) and sat through a Psychology lecture. The lecturer’s name is Yoshi and he seriously looks about fifteen years old. The hour was mainly spent being grossed out by and giggling at the bodily noises of the somewhat phlegm-filled fellow behind us, but we also learned that if you anaesthetise monkeys and paint their faces, they will get freaked out. Figures.

Music lecture was pretty good- got to watch Elvis dancing and Pat Boone trying to be like Little Richard (not to mention Little Richard yelling incoherently). The lecturers are both Greek professors who smile too much, and I think there’s something going on between them.

Later on, decided to make something for my brother Maxim’s namesday tomorrow so I went through a few cookbooks and settled on raspberry crumble cupcakes. They were pretty easy and fun to make, and I’ve put the photos up on Flickr in my Food and Drink set. They taste pretty good, but the crumble is, um, crumbly.

I should probably explain today’s photo– I was walking through the university after my last lecture and thinking of what I could photograph for the blog. The whole point of the photos is so that I can look back in a few years’ time and go “ohhhhhhhhhhh that was the day I did/saw/was assaulted by X”. As soon as I had had that thought, I turned the corner and saw this larger-than-life model/statue/tribute to Dr Zoidberg of Futurama fame. I presume it was part of the Prosh Week activities at uni, which I don’t understand very much. Needless to say, you don’t see a 15 foot tall Dr Zoidberg every day, so I decided to make this today’s photo.

3 responses to “Day 4- August 25, 2009

  1. My poor boy, being slept on by strangers.
    However, it has made for a most entertaing story, so it’s not all bad.

    (and that giant alien thing? creepy as)
    xo

  2. Sigh. How uncultured.
    It’s Dr Zoidberg, the lovable albeit incompetent lobster/indigent/doctor from Futurama!

    I’ll have to make you watch some…

  3. sash, I am aware that it’s from a tv show
    don’t stop the sculpture thing from being creepy

Leave a Reply

