Day 21- September 11, 2009

I’m currently listening to Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon for the third time today. I started doing next week’s tutorial reading for my music subject and the first reading was an analysis of that album, so I listened to it while I read the article. It was a lot of fun, since I rarely bother to listen to albums all the way through, and there’s a lot of things you don’t really notice until somebody points them out to you. So I guess I just haven’t really stopped listening to it. It’s good.

Today’s tute was really enjoyable- got to listen to Pink Floyd and David Bowie. To get a local taste of the glam rock genre, we watched the music video for Horror Movie by the Australian 70s glam rock band Skyhooks. The costumes are incredibly camp and the video is set in Luna Park, which is pretty funny. I see their guitarist and tv personality Red Symons around a lot. He always seems to be drinking coffee in Lygon St, looking dissatisfied. But yeah, take a look at the video:

I finally finished the semester’s requirement for particiption in various university psychologic projects. Today’s involved various memory tests and a word processing task in which two words were flashed on the computer screen and you have to say the second word out as quickly as possible. They gave me a debriefing statement which explained the experiment’s aims, but after staring at a black and white computer screen for 45 minutes and reading out words, I wasn’t really in the mood for any more words (so I put Pink Floyd on again).

On the train ride home, I had a really great view. The city looks pretty cool from the train in the late afternoon, especially when the clouds are interesting. I know it sounds strange, but I like skies. I really wished I had taken my camera, because it would have been awesome, but I didn’t; so today’s photo is one of my street at night. I like dark shots, and my new camera’s a lot better at taking them (check out my photos of Carlton at dusk from yesterday on my Flickr page— just scroll through till you find them; they’re not in a set). Now all I need is a tripod…

5 responses to “Day 21- September 11, 2009

  1. I love the Skyhooks! Glad you got to hear some local stuff. Although, Horror Movie is overplayed. Listen to “Livin’ In the 70’s”. It’s the shiz!

  2. Oh well, it was on the required listening list. I wanted them to play Moonage Daydream, but they insisted upon Ziggy Stardust. Not that that’s a bad thing!

  3. seriously, throw a glam rock party
    it would be awesome

  4. Hell yes to Ragtime (to Glam Rock) to Rap.

  5. Ha… excellent subject
    I still say we should have won
    Mike Hawk!

Leave a Reply

