Day 33- September 23, 2009

After cleaning up my room (long overdue…), I headed into the city to buy some presents. Well, I was really using “buying presents” as a pretext for “photo odyssey” and ended up taking over 300 photos today (45 of which ended up on Flickr). Oh, and I had a really awesome sandwich for lunch. Don’t laugh. It was spicy panchetta and it was the most amazing thing ever. I can hear sniggers…

Anyway, so I went in looking for some presents, since I’m off to Sarah’s for a while and needed a thank-you present for her parents and a birthday present for her brother. After about an hour of taking photos, I remembered that I was meant to go looking for stuff and ended up getting chocolate from Haigh’s. I always spend ages there because there are so many different things to choose from. Heh.

Anyway, so most of the day was spent taking a plethora (my favourite all-purpose collective noun!) of photos; starting from Flinders Lane, and going through Centre Place (where Today’s Photo was taken) to Collins Street, and then through Block Arcade and Block Place to Bourke Street. I then went across to Swanston Street and up Flinders Lane to Russell Street. I took quite a few shots of graffiti and even managed to get this sweet rainbow. A funny photo I took was of an employee at Supre putting up pink lovehearts in the shop window. Heh. Supre is laaaame…

Later, I met up with Josiah, who had just come up from filming a zombie movie trailer (apparently that explained why his hands were red and why he had corn syrup all over his shirt). We checked out the new Lindt cafe on Collins Street and their quite rich and delicious hot chocolates. While we were there, I was taking photos of the inside of the building, and the snooty Lindt man asked me not to take “wide angle photos” inside. When I explained that I was in fact using a telephoto lens, he gave me somewhat of a greasy faux-French (cartoon-style) look. Here’s Josiah enjoying his hot chocolate. Heh.

Well, that’s it from me in Melbourne. I’m off to Sydney for about one and a half weeks, leaving tomorrow morning (in the unlikely event of the flight actually being not cancelled). I’ll take heaps of photos and keep updating the blog from there, so keep reading! (Dramatic 60s tv show cliffhanger-type music)

2 responses to “Day 33- September 23, 2009

  1. Woooooooooooooooooo!!!

  2. YAY! I totally stole that picture of me for my facebook DP.
    I love this blog. Can’t wait for the Sydney odyssey!

Leave a Reply

