Day 40- September 30, 2009

Today was Sarah’s brother’s birthday, so we took him to the movies to celebrate. I took quite a few photos today, but beach photos have already been done and hilarious as the photos of Sarah’s youngest brother in massive sunglasses are, I thought this one would be more relevant. Today’s photo is Jo “jumping for joy” (heh lame) at turning 14, especially since he got a pack of freckles from me.

We saw Up, which is the new animated Pixar film about an old man trying to fly a helium balloon-powered house to South America. We thought it was really good. SQUIRREL! (I was stuck with what to say next, but if you’ve seen the movie, you’ll find it funny). I liked the fact that although it was ultimately a children’s film, it managed to be interesting to an older audience without being one of those children’s films that are peppered with innuendo for long-suffering parents.

The rest of the day was spent either avoiding or photographing Sarah’s rather numerous siblings (yay! I don’t have to take photos of the dog!), lazing around on the beach or failing at Scrabble with Sarah’s grandma (I am so cool). I don’t think I was too bad for someone who has never played actual Scrabble (I’ve played a few online games, but cheated in all of them), but ended up bailing as soon as I realised that I had no chance against a pretty seasoned player. I can’t decide whether that makes me a sore loser or just plain lazy. Probably both.

2 responses to “Day 40- September 30, 2009

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. Up made me cry. 15 minutes in. (and then, basically, for the rest of the film)

Leave a Reply

