Day 48- October 8, 2009

Just came back from setting up the hall for tomorrow’s Masquerade Ball. Our set-up was supposed to finish around 9, but I left about 11.30 and people were still working. It was all pretty epic. The first task when I got there was to help move over a hundred chairs from the hall to the basement. The only thing that beats that is knowing that we’ll have to carry them all back after the Ball (at about 1am).

Then came the blowing up of the balloons. I ended up blowing up 65 balloons in total (some pictured here), including about 10 really really really big ones which were bigger than my head. Kolya was having a lot of fun with his balloons until he was told to stop mucking around and get back to work. I think at that point I tried to get up from my chair and fell over. I can’t understand why anybody would waste money getting drunk when a $2 packet of balloons has exactly the same effect.

Of course, this being a Russian event, there was much revelry, which included dancing with balloons, pretending to play hide and seek; and trying on the masks. I spent most of the rest of the night up on a ladder (as pictured), attaching little sticky hooks to the windowframes, being somewhat frustrated when I found I’d stuck them on upside down, and then hanging streamers off them. The whole place looks pretty good, what with our balloon chandelier and streamers. Tomorrow should be awesome. If you haven’t bought tickets yet, it’s not too late as they are available at the door. Details here.

As for the rest of the day, I took some photos from my Psychology classroom (slightly disappointed at the distortion– shall have to invest in a tilt-shift lens at some point) and witnessed a rather heated discussion between plain-clothed ticket inspectors and some fare evaders at the station. I also bought tickets for Big Day Out 2010, although I’m still waiting for the confirmation email. Grr… The money for the tickets has gone from my bank account, but I’m not yet sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing.

One response to “Day 48- October 8, 2009

  1. I love you, you epic poser

Leave a Reply

