Day 71- October 31, 2009

Part of the application process to teach music with Yamaha is going to see some of their classes in action to get a feel for their method. Having driven over the hills and far away (well, it was about a 30 minute drive that did involve some hilly bits), I got all confused because they told me that their Malvern site was relocating to Carnegie. Naturally, I got to Carnegie and found out that they were still in Malvern. Luckily, the two are only a few minutes away. Still, gah confusion!

The first class I saw was their most junior one (3-4 years old), which didn’t involve too much playing piano, but a lot of singing and counting and stomping around like a¬†stegosaurus. I think it would be absolutely hilarious to get this job, because I’d get to do all the silly stuff I normally do (like ridiculous dancing), and get paid for it. The other class was slightly older children (I think it was 6-8 or so), which was pretty interesting from the point of view of having done the Yamaha classes as a child and now seeing and thinking about how they teach music. And it also brought back memories, like having to stand around the teacher’s piano and sing songs, or getting stickers at the end of each class (God I loved the stickers!).

After going for my first “classical” piano lesson in about three years (to help prepare for the audition), I spent the afternoon doing nothing of any great consequence. I’ve been fiddling around with Adobe Lightroom, which is like Photoshop but specifically for photos. It doesn’t have all the paint-type tools, but it lets you deal with many photos at a time and gives you heaps of control over all the photo-editing. I’m still working it all out, but made some edits I was pleased with. Here’s one of Sarah that I was playing around with (compare with the original), and a black and white one of her brother Peter (in which he looks slightly evil).

James and Andrew came over in the afternoon. We christened the newly-acquired outdoor set by sitting in the backyard with a few beers (animal rights activists please note: the dog is not actually drinking in today’s photo), and James got to Enjoy His Life once again (lucky bastard). We also watched some nigh-on-incomprehensible French sci-fi film, Eden Log, about some strange underground power plant that killed people. Yeah. I didn’t understand it either.

One response to “Day 71- October 31, 2009

  1. see at my formal afterparty, someone spilled beer and my friend’s dog started licking it up. He just seemed so happy I simply didn’t have the heart to stop him. I’m glad to see that other people share my sentiments! XD

Leave a Reply

