Day 133- January 1, 2010

Happy New Year! Last night was spent at Ben’s; much preferable to going into the packed city, especially considering the weather (storms, if you’re not in Melbourne). We ate Skittles and played poker (I won $5… how exciting!), and for some reason Ben was showing me Youtube videos (I have to look something up apparently, but I can’t remember what it is…). I toasted in the new year with a rather nice Sauvignon Blanc (a step up from last year’s cask wine) and then we ate Coles chicken nuggets (of course). There was also another element to the evening involving projective vomit, but I won’t name names.

And then I slept until after midday; a most excellent way to begin a new year. I did things with photos (some things never change) and barbecued some sausages for dinner. All in all, not terribly exciting, but relaxing nonetheless. The award for Most Exciting Part of the Day is a two-way split between the incessant thunderstorms (which I managed to photograph at the cost of ten thousand mosquito bites all over my body) and another episode of furniture moving with Dad, which again almost involved decapitation (this time by a bike!) but was finished off with a game of table-tennis (I won 21-17), so it was all good.

And now for New Year Resolutions. They often tend to be silly, but I think that something useful and achievable can be good. I haven’t been reading too much lately and every time I read a list of “Books You Must Read Before You Die” or “BBC Top 100 Books” or something like that, I realise how much I’ve been missing out on. So I’ll make a list of 12 books, 6 classics and 6 modern, and force myself to read at least one of those per month so that by the end of the year, my literary credentials will be slightly less pathetic. I think I’ll start January with Burgess’ A Clockwork Orange, simply because Sarah is also reading it and wants me to explain all the quasi-Russian slang to her.

Leave a Reply

