Day 166- February 3, 2010

Argh. My ipod still won’t turn on. I didn’t have the lid of the water bottle closed properly yesterday and it leaked out and into my bag. So now the ipod just has a black screen and won’t respond to button pushing or being plugged in. Arrrrrrrrrgh. I took it to a repair place today, but the guy (who actually reminded me of the little Asian scientist man from Blade Runner, except that he was surrounded by generic brand phone parts) told me there was no guarantee he could fix it. Fingers crossed for tomorrow.

So I had to go to the gym with my old ipod mini (because exercise without music is unbearable), which has a battery life of about an hour. Going to the gym the second time after a long break is always harder than the first one, which is sadistically deceptive. Although I dreaded coming back, the first time wasn’t too bad. I couldn’t run as fast as before the holidays, but that was to be expected, and I congratulated myself for being able to get back into it at all. And then I went today. It’s like Dylan Moran’s description of middle-agers’ hangovers: you think you’ll be ok, and then when you least expect it, the evil pixies jump at you. It’s something like that, although probably more to do with being sore than pixies or hangovers.

I came home and had a shower and defrosted some butter (very important) and had lunch (at 5pm, as you do) before going off to the first production band rehearsal for the year. We’ve got two guitarists now, and it’s sounding pretty good, even if we only managed to work through a few songs. On the way home, I listened to a rather amusing Star Wars radio play on PBS before having dinner and making cookies (chocolate honey coat cookies– pictured). The cookies are to take to Scott’s tomorrow, since we all pretty much invited ourselves over to his place, but turned out a bit funny. I was impatient and didn’t let the melted butter cool before adding it to the dry mixture, which melted the chocolate and caused a runny mixture which turned into big flat cookies which merged into each other which I then had to cut into rectangular pieces with a knife. And there, ladies and gentlemen, is the most uses of the word “which” in a sentence!

Leave a Reply

