Day 172- February 9, 2010

Oops. I went to the city today and waited for my cousin Kira, as we were supposed to have lunch. After about 15 minutes of waiting, I realised that the 16th was in fact next Tuesday. How silly of me. I had over an hour left until I was due to meet James and Alex so I grabbed some Maccas and sat on a bench eating and finishing the book I was reading (The Solitude of Prime Numbers). Mum’s friend, who also read it, said that she didn’t like it because there were no likable characters, but I thought that it was more realistic that way, and the fact that you couldn’t comfortable sympathise with any one character meant that you had to think more about it. I’d write more, but post-midnight literary criticism isn’t my strong point.

I met up with James and then Alex, and discovered that James had been in the city all along, having lunch on the opposite end of Collins Street. On the positive side, I got to finish my book and take some photos. We went to the Kino and saw Precious, a film about an impoverished black girl struggling to improve her life while dealing with an abusive mother and two children fathered by her own father. It was pretty confronting, but fortunately managed to avoid being overly sentimental. The acting was good, I loved the cinematography and best of all, it didn’t end with the cliched “you can do anything if you set your mind to it” message, but was more quietly optimistic. My only objection was that her supportive school teacher literally glowed. I don’t know if it was the lighting, post-processing or a bit of both, but it seemed a bit silly. Otherwise, definitely worth seeing. (Post-midnight film criticism clearly being more of my thing).

After sitting at a cafe for a while, James and I went back to my place, saying goodbye to Alex. We had dinner and watched Law Abiding Citizen, which Alex had wanted to see in the cinemas today. I decided it looked a bit iffy (perhaps being tipped off by it being completely panned by critics) and downloaded it instead. In short, it was quite ridiculous. The dialogue was terrible (what do you expect from Gerard Butler?) but quite amusing at times (the it’s-so-bad-it’s-good factor). James disagreed, but we still had a lot of fun laughing at it. Oh, and Today’s Photo is of a game of “Big Chess” we passed on Swanston Street.

Leave a Reply

