Day 220- March 29, 2010

Woo. I had today off. It’s not holidays yet (we only get one week for the Easter break, but about five weeks for the semester break), but I don’t have Psych tutes on odd-numbered weeks, and for some reason, there aren’t any Policy lectures this week. So I decided not to go in for gym and Yoga, and instead get some work done for once. But first Nick came over to practise some of the music for the Easter service on Sunday. He brought his kids, complete with their anatomically-correct German toy animals, and we sang bizarre things in Russian.

Continuing with things of a bizarre and Russian nature, I went to my grandma’s to drop off Maxim. Mum and Lena were there making kulichii, which are a type of Russian “cake” traditionally eaten during Easter. It’s a yeasty sort of creature that’s baked in long tins, rises to form a cylindrical shape with a curved top, and is then decorated with icing and shiny sugar beads. When I got there, they were mixing the dough and zesting lemons/oranges for flavour. Today’s Photo is the old, handwritten kulich recipe, written God knows how long ago. Totally a cultural item! I also liked this old book— the Russian reads “Book of Delicious and Healthy Food”. I also took a photo of this paper cutout thing— completely unrelated and even more completely awesome.

And then I came home and worked on my assignment. It wasn’t pretty, let me tell you, my droogs, but I managed to get through it (or, at least all the bits that we don’t do in the class), which is real horrorshow. I appear to have slipped into Alex DeLarge for some reason, and I make absolutely no appy-polly-loggies. It’s more interesting than ending the post abruptly otherwise, especially considering the most exciting part of the remainder of the day was making apples in syrup. Oh, but we have an abrupt end. How ironic.

ESTRAGON: Well, shall we go?

VLADIMIR: Yes, let’s go.

[they do not move]

One response to “Day 220- March 29, 2010

  1. Give me a carrot.
    (angrily) It’s a turnip!

Leave a Reply

