Day 244- April 22, 2010

Another boring day. You can tell by the photo, can’t you? It’s not completely random though. I was walking home from the station and looking at all the dramatic clouds. It made me wish I had a super-wide angle lens to capture the amazing hugeness of the sky. Also, a large platform or building from which to take photos, so that stupid things like trees and houses wouldn’t get in the way. It really can look quite amazing, the sky, and I can never seem to get that same sense of space in the photograph as in real life.

Oh well. It is nice when the clouds are dramatic and you get a good mix of colours in there. It would be even nicer if your neighbour didn’t have an ugly, semi-legal Colourbond roof extension which blocked the view to the west. I think I’ve ranted about this before, but it really is very annoying. And aesthetically displeasing. And we all know how important aesthetics are. Wanker.

Aside from being largely eventful, the day wasn’t too bad. The Thursday Russian class is a lot better than the others, what with the tutor being a lot more engaging. I think a sense of humour and a sense of warmness really do help in teaching. You can lecture all the content you like, but if the students don’t want to listen to you, or if you make it difficult for them to want to, then it’s pretty much a waste of time.

It was a bit strange when I started tutes with her, because she used to teach me Russian when I was little. I don’t remember being terrible enthusiastic about putting any sort of effort in and doing the homework always made me cry. Every week, I would sit down with Dad and try to do the exercises and cry and cry and cry because I couldn’t for the life of me comprehend why Russian needed six cases to begin with. Dad would start off being very patient and trying to explain everything, but would get more frustrated as I just sat there and sobbed. Poor man.

Anyway, now that I’m doing Russian at uni, there’s been a marked reduction in tears, and I’m actually understanding which letters change to what, when and why. And we’re told amusing anecdotes about Soviet Russia, so it’s all good.

I was also glad to get a good deal of work done for my essay. I went through the ~160 page state government transport policy and the ~70 page policy recommendation put out by the Public Transport Users’ Association. Just the Green Party’s policy (a much shorter one, hurrah!) to get through tomorrow, and then I can start writing. It really will be good to finish it, mainly because I’m quite aware of the fact that I talk about it all the time, which must become an incredible bore to one and all. I mean, I’ve probably talked about it on the blog at least a half dozen times. I don’t really want to go through and check, because I think that would be depressing.

But yes, it will be good to get that finished. Or at least started. That way, I feel I’ve done something concrete, and not just page upon page of notes. And then I’m off to the Russian Ball! That should be an interesting experience…

Leave a Reply

