Day 260- May 8, 2010

I know, I know. It’s terribly wanker-y of me to put up a photo of myself. Especially playing guitar. That is the most cliched type of wanker photo of all time (apart from, perhaps, photos of people with their cars). But I had to! I had no other photo and it was very relevant, as I spent a good portion of the evening learning to play Blackbird. Also, it’s a lovely photo courtesy of the skillz of Maxim (this was clearly not a self-taken photo, although I did Lightroom it up).

Work most of the day. Moderately uneventful. The year eight reading comprehension extract was from Star Wars (the bit where Luke fights the Rancor); quite disappointed that none of them had seen any of the movies. Seriously? That’s almost as bad as the conversation I had with someone (who shall not be named) who didn’t know who Yoko Ono was. That wouldn’t have been so bad if it weren’t for the fact that said person didn’t know who John Lennon was either. JOHN GOSHDARNED LENNON! Oh, the futility…

More rocking out on the way home, even if the traffic was a bit denser than normal. I think it’s time to change my music around– as the days get shorter and colder, I tend to stop listening to “summery” music and go more for the likes of Nick Cave, Radiohead and Nine Inch Nails. Anybody care to recommend anything else in that vein?

And then the evening was Seinfeld, guitar, an exceptionally atrocious movie (Sharkboy and Lavagirl) and Nick Cave. I’m listening to Let Love In and Murder Ballads at the moment… should get more of his stuff.

One response to “Day 260- May 8, 2010

  1. You’re a Bowie fan. So I reccomend his 1995 album Outside. It’s industrial rock, so similar to the style of Nine Inch Nails.
    I also reccomend the Oasis album Standing on the Shoulders of Giants. Pretty heavy album. See whatcha think?

    I love suggesting music. Thankyou for the opportunity 😛

Leave a Reply

