Day 278- May 26, 2010

The taxman’s taken all my dough and left me in this stately home. Well, not really. But I have been listening to The Kinks today. As far as music goes, I also downloaded the entire The Who discography, listening to 80s clips on Youtube and played some acoustic covers of Katy Perry songs on guitar. The amount of chords she uses is appallingly small. Verses, choruses, bridges. The same four chords. Over and over and bleeding over. Which of course makes it brilliant to cover in a variety of styles. Since I’ve got a cold and am losing my voice, I gave my Tom Waits impersonation a try.

I stayed at home, being sickly and all. This enabled me to sleep through half the day without feeling guilty, which is always a good thing. However, I did tidy up a bit and make a cake, so I wasn’t completely unproductive. An apple cake it was, the same one I made a few weeks ago. Or whenever it was. I have an appalling sense of time. I still can’t believe it’s 2010. Or May. Or Wednesday. How did that happen?

I took some photos as well. There’s a limit to how much you can photograph in the house, but I liked the way this old perfume bottle looked on the windowsill against the tree outside (pictured). I took quite a few shots, trying to get the warped and inverted image of the tree in the glass ball. It’s interesting from an optics perspective. The bottle is in focus and the tree (with yellow leaves) behind it is out of focus, but the image of the tree in the bottle is in focus. I wonder what the light ray diagram of that would look like? I guess the glass ball is equivalent to a very fat convex lens and when… oh God it hurts my head!

2 responses to “Day 278- May 26, 2010

  1. It would be interesting to do a photo a day For a year only from inside one’s house. I’m sure you’d have no problem.

  2. Hurrah! The Who!

Leave a Reply

