Day 300- June 17, 2010

I finally cleaned up my room. Well, what passes for “cleaning up” by my standards, anyway. The layers of dust have been swept up by that magic static-charged cloth you see in the ads and in all good supermarkets, all the expired discount petrol vouchers have been thrown in the bin and all the clothes lying around have been either folded or hidden in the laundry to be washed at an unspecified time in the future. I also made a dentist appointment, which, though it involved a two minute phone call, made me feel like I was Getting On Top Of Things and Using My Telephone Manner, both of which make me feel terribly grown-up.

I do love the word “grown-up”. It reminds me for some reason of the Enid Blyton books I read when I was a child. You know, from the era when you still called girls Fanny and if anybody dared to giggle, they were whipped by the schoolmarm. They also used the adverb “terribly”, which is fantastic (or as they said Back Then, “most capital!”) for indicating that you are speaking in an old-fashioned manner. And that wonderfully naive racism. The good old days where you could own golliwogs without being stoned by the Thought Police and enjoy Tintin without having to read the obligatory disclaimer.

And now back to the present, before somebody points out that I was born in the 90s and have no right to feel nostalgia for times that were never mine. WELL LET ME TELL YOU SOMETHING, HYPOTHETIC PERSON I INVENTED FOR THE SAKE OF THIS PARAGRAPH: I’LL PINE FOR WHICHEVER PERIOD OF TIME I WISH! I mean, look at you. You’re not even a real person! So, yes, the present. I watched Teeth with Steph on Skype Simulcast (basically, you watch a terrible movie in synch with the other person in the hopes that jovial conversation will make the movie enjoyable). I finished the soup (and was declared to be a Good Boy by Mum). And I’m finally getting around to writing a review of the OK Go album Of The Blue Colour Of The Sky (although I am being distracted by Eddie Izzard).

Today’s Photo came about when I found a box of matches in my room while tidying it. It sort of annoyed me that they were taking up space in my room without serving a purpose, so I got some incense. Also this is a perfectly legitimate use for matches and makes me look like less of a pyromaniac or closet smoker. I wanted to end with some song lyric involving fire but all that’s done is caused my head to play a mashup of Billie Joel and Kasabian, so I think I’ll call it a night. Eddie Izzard calls.

2 responses to “Day 300- June 17, 2010

  1. OK Go. Worth listening to?

  2. Yeah, it’s pretty cool. I’ll let you know when I finish my review.

Leave a Reply

