Day 313- June 30, 2010

Yawn. Yawn and grumble. The sun isn’t up at six and it’s hard to get up. I know that’s when most people get up on most days, but I’m not most people. I’m extraordinary (by which I mean that I am a student). But it was all for a good cause- namely, holiday! More specifically, holiday at Sarah’s!

After spending a while in some horrible traffic and not being sure how long it would take to get to the airport, I (not surprisingly) got to the airport! Or rather, the Tiger Airways terminal, which is kind of Airport Lite. There’s three “gates” (corridors leading out onto long walks on the tarmac… how romantic!) and the obligatory airport bookshop/newsstand/money-gouger, as well as some other rubbish (like an overpriced Boost Juice). The boarding was somewhat bizarre, with the monitors reading that the boarding for my flight had closed before it had actually even started (which caused people to stand in line for the wrong flight, and in turn, a somewhat stern PA announcement telling us to “remain seated”… dystopian much?).

Magically, the plane, despite leaving a bit late, managed to get to Sydney on time, which is pretty much a first for me. By “on time”, I am of course applying the standards of Melbourne’s public transport system, which defines the aforementioned term as “less than five minutes late” (which really isn’t too bad when applied to airlines). We collected the luggage, we took the train (come on Brumby!) and proceeded to lunch, which was both tasty and filling.

We spent the rest of the day watching Eddie Izzard, playing music and watching The Gruen Transfer. Now go away. I am tired. I got up early today. Did you get up early today? Oh… well… whatever. Also, the photo is of me beating Sarah’s sister Anna in a tickle fight. I think she’ll think twice before trying to take me on again. Heh.

Leave a Reply

