Day 357- August 13, 2010

Not too bad a day. Not bad at all. Mainly because it’s all tutes on Fridays, and they’re quite a bit more engaging than lectures. I was particularly thankful for my Terrorism tute, in which a plethora of psychoanalytic concepts were explained to me in language I could actually understand (and so now I can bandy about terms like “the symbolic order” and “point de capiton“, even if I can’t pronounce the last one).

Russian wasn’t too bad either, as we learned some quite hilarious proverbs. My favourite was “кто не согласен с маршрутом, тот может сойти”, which pretty much means “if you don’t like it, you can get lost”. Very useful.

And, finally, Broadway, in which I gave a “presentation” (quite informal, really) on issues raised by this week’s readings, which mainly pertained to the adaption of literary texts into musical theatre and the extent to which these texts were changed and also to the history of operettas in 1910-1920s America. This then spilled over into a discussion of the various interpretations that can be made of musical films such as Mary Poppins and the Wizard of Oz. Some people objected to political and sexual interpretations of Mary Poppins ruining their childhood memories, but I thought it was all very good fun. Also, I’m glad I’m not the only one who thought that Glinda (the “good witch” from Wizard of Oz) was a complete bitch.

Home and readings and dinner and playing Bowie on guitar (pictured) and being glad that I wasn’t on Lygon St when two people were shot dead.

One response to “Day 357- August 13, 2010

  1. Wow… what a nonchalantly morbid end to todays blog.

Leave a Reply

